12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Found some nice fresh green beans today, had been looking so I could try this salad. Cut the recipe in half and we will still be eating it for a couple of dinners and lunches!! Also used walla walla onions, they are so sweet this time of year, had to use dried dill, no fresh around yet, and used about half of the salad oil. It was a super duper potato salad! Good change from the usual. Thanks for posting Mirj, it's a keeper!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf June 12, 2002

This is a great, low fat, salad. Go heavy on the mustard and light on the oil.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren May 19, 2002

I had to sub a little, dried dill (no fresh available yet) and vidalia onion instead of red onion. Cut the recipe in half for just the two of us. Delicious! We really enjoyed the way the flavors blended! Served this as a side dish to grilled chicken, it was a perfect hot weather meal. This one is going in the "favorites" file, Mirj. I can't wait to try it with fresh dill! Thanks for the recipe! :o)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri F. June 26, 2002

I halved the recipe... Increased the mustard (thanks for the suggestion!), limited the oil to a tablespoon, and added two spoonfuls of light whipped dressing. I also used water-packed roasted red peppers instead of a fresh chopped red pepper. It was fabulous. Next time I'll use a little less dill, and I'd like to try it without the dressing. (I added it at the last minute to satisfy "someone elses" craving for CREAMY potato salad!) Thank-you, this one's a keeper...

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jehnna June 23, 2002

easy to make, visually appealing. well recieved.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joanne breden June 20, 2002

This was fantastic--- Especially this time of year with all the wonderful fresh vegtables... I usually just steam my veggies and then have a salad. This takes care of both and a really nice change of pace!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamibic June 10, 2002

This was very good. My husband that won't eat anything with vinegar even liked this. This is like a salad my aunt made once when she was visiting. Thanks for sharing this.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 May 19, 2002

This is a simple but absolutely delicious recipe and a perfect solution to using the garden produce that is ready right now. It would be very easy to overeat this salad! I did decrease the oil (I used olive oil) by a few tbsp. and added extra mustard as some of the other reviewers suggested. I used Stevia instead of sugar. Thanks for coming up with such a good flavor combination!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulalynn730 August 16, 2013

Very tasty, though I think it needed less oil and more mustard. I also added fresh asparagus which was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny May 23, 2010

Really liked this! I will cut back the oil to 1/4 cup next time, as it just didn't need the extra oil and was a little too oily. Also, I made this about three hours ahead for a party. Next time I think I will make the night before, because it is even better the next day! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzsoccermom June 22, 2009
Chilled Green Bean and Red Potato Salad