9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I wasn't really sure about this. I'm not use to the flavor of thyme. Also, I think I might have put to much in, so I added a little more milk. After adding the sauce to the potatoes and beans, it kind of mellowed out. DH gave it 4 stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skeeter June 24, 2003

Very good recipe. I used half the thyme. Will make again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn December 05, 2010

Everyone loved this! Delicious! Omitted thyme as we don't like it. This is a keeper. Thanks MizzNezz.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
recipesrmypassion December 31, 2009

Very good! I used fresh green beans from my garden, whole wheat flour and Smart Balance 50/50 blend. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird August 15, 2009

If you like thyme, then add the thyme! If you don't like thyme, like me, then please leave it out and try another herb that you do like. This recipe is basically potatoes and green beans with white gravy, which I liked!! I made this with just a pinch of thyme and thought that was enough for flavor. I also added some vegetable bouillon to the gravy mix for flavor, along with some powdered garlic. Decent side dish for dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel June 29, 2009

This is a quick and easy recipe, also very tasty! I used 2 Tbsp shortening, since I didn't have butter, and I made the dish with white beans (it's what I had)- still delicious. I'd use a little less salt, but the amount of thyme was good. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Granddaughter 1 June 16, 2009

I just made this and loved it! Due to the previous reviews, I used 1/2 tsp of thyme and it was delicious. I also used fresh green beans and they worked well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bethany1977 August 27, 2008

I made this exactly as stated. It had too much thyme, overwhelming so for DH, but otherwise it was a really good side dish. Would definitely make it again and just cut the thyme back to 3/8 or 1/4 tsp. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle March 07, 2008

Excellent side dish. Can be made without the thyme or using canned green beans instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura O. June 24, 2004
Creamed Red Potatoes And Green Beans