10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sorry this didn't do it for me. I only used half the Balsamic vinegar and it was still so overpowering that I couldn't tell that I was eating steak. I like to taste what I'm eating especially rib eye. Maybe I will try it again using just a tablespoon of Balsamic vinegar and half of the other ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 January 16, 2011

These steaks were delicous. Marinated the steaks for only 2 hours and still was great. Thanks for posting Annie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmy January 19, 2010

We had a "throw-down" ala Bobby Flay at the house...I used this marinade and won! This was just delicious! I didn't have any red onions, so did the marinade only. I also only had time to marinate for 2 hours...it was still great! Try this, you won't be disappointed. Thanks for posting Annie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie May 11, 2009

This marinade was absolutely delicious. Made it as written except silly me couldn't find my red onion in the fridge. I bought one it is on my grocery receipt but I think it got left behind on cashiers counter, oh well. As well I used bone-in Rib. Anyways the steaks flavor was wonderful. I had it marinated for about 5 1/2 hours. I didn't find it overpowering in any way. Just super delicious. I am sure it would of been better with the onions but.....on the next time round. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny October 18, 2008

This is an all-time favorite! My dad was visiting from CA... he's always done the barbequeing in our family so I wanted to have a great steak and took a chance on this recipe. It did not disappoint! Actually, we have a favorite family marinade my dad buys in California that is not available here in Missouri. We all thought this was every bit as good... and that is a compliment. Thank you for a great recipe... it's already in our "family favorites" for many more barbeques to come.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 April 21, 2008

Extremely tasty steak, in fact, the taste is even a bit too overpowering, making it difficult to appreciate the quality of the meat. Next time I use this recipe, I intend to use only half of the recommended amount of balsamic vinegar, red wine vinegar, and soya sauce. It it woks out as well as expected, I'll revise my review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robbie #22 September 14, 2006

Great flavor and so easy. The sauce and onions made this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Philamom August 02, 2006

My family and guests were blown away with this steak! I served for Easter with Gulliver's creamed corn, wilted spinach salad and crosini wrapped in prosciutto. I made exactly as written (well, doubled marinade)using the fresh rosemary from the yard and marinated overnight...super!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 148068 April 17, 2006

The dinner table went silent when this was served. Dh and his brother gave this their full, undivided attention. There were no leftovers. I followed the directions, marinating 5-6 hours and using basil rather than rosemary (just a personal preference). This is a real man-pleaser.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea July 04, 2005

I made this for guests and it was wonderful. I did not include the onions nor did I marinate in baggies. I put the steaks in a pan, allowed them to marinate and grilled them outside. It was wonderful. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Wing Fan March 14, 2005
Grilled Rib Eye Steak & Red Onions