Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Red / Red Cabbage Salad with a touch of Asia Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Cabbage Salad with a touch of Asia

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2003

      rita, i loved this, just loved the dressing, it's a keeper. i subbed basil for cilantro and used the scallions. i did use the rice vinegar, but i omitted the celery- this was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      Oh, and I used honey instead of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

    • on June 29, 2012

      So good and so pretty! I cut down on the oil and vinegar just a notch and added a bit more sugar (had one of those dull-tasting red cabbages so I felt it needed balancing) - will make again! Thank you Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      At first I thought this was a little off but the more I ate the better it was. I think if you give it some time for the flavors to blend it gets better. My husband loved it and he doesn't even like red cabbage so that says a lot. I do think if I made it again I might play around and make some adaptations. As it was I didn't have any sesame oil so I used tahini instead. I also used a gypsy pepper instead of red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      I liked this very much - the dressing flavour combo is a favourite of mine. I felt the amount of oil was pretty high, which is about the only thing I would change. And well, I did....I cut back on the oil and the vinegar by about 1/3 - and that was fine because I was missing some of the veg this salad called for anyway. This is one of the best ways to enjoy raw cabbage - thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      Let's start with the good - visually a beautiful salad. Followed the directions exactly as written and didn't like it at all. The two people I shared it with did not like it either. Flavors were just off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Simply wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I made this tonight for my lunches this week. It is delicious! I subbed organic almond butter instead of the peanut butter and it worked out wonderfully. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      I made a lot of substitutions/exclusions based on what was in our cupboards, but this was still a really good salad. I added some soba noodles to serve it as a side to a tofu dish. Next time, I will cut down on the vinegar as it was a bit acidic. Thanks for something delicious and new!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      YUMMY!! I pref. my dressing thick so I added an unmeasurable amount of peanut butter. I used creamy fat free Peter Pan. (I wonder how regular CHUNKY Skippy would taste-- MMMM...) I did use rice vinegar (Kame brand) but think I might cut a bit back next time- end product was a wee bit acidic. Rita, thank you for posting a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      I made a this for my lunch for the next two days, but leaving the dressing off until that morning. I used green beans instead of the snow peas, regular cabbage, didn't have any cilantro, added some carrots and some raisins. The dressing was very simple, I didn't even blend it, I just minced the garlic and the ginger, tossed it in a jar and shook and it was good to go. I noticed that there was a kind of ?starchy? feeling to the dressing but that just might have been the pb I used, it had a great flavor though. Next time I'll be sure to use more red pepper flakes! It was super simple and tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      This is pretty good and healthy to boot! I added a quarter of a granny smith apple (shredded) and eliminated the snow pea pods (couldn't find them in produce). I will be making this often this summer!!! Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      This was really good. I ended up using green onions instead of shallots, and I didn't have any celery. I had to syb the peanut butter for soy nut butter (DS allergies) and it worked great. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      A very good cabbage salad. I made the dressing according to the recipe except I just added a scoop of peanut butter (probably a little more than a tablespoonful)and I forgot the cilantro in the fridge. I used at least two cups of cabbage and had just enough dressing. If you are increasing the vegetables beyond that I would also increase the amount of dressing. The recipe went home with two different people so I know it was a success. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      This is pretty good. I didn't have red peppers and I think I missed them. I will try again with the peppers and the extra PB. Also, I will add extra sesame seeds. I do have to say, my 11 yr. old dd, who is very picky, told me that it was very good. Coming from her, that is a compliment!!! Thanks-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Wonderful Salad! Colorful and Delicious! I think this is a great choice for anyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      Loved it! Delicious salad with lots of vitamins in it! The only thing I've changed is reduced the amount of vinegar. Thanks for posting, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      This recipe was fantastic. I added a tiny bit more peanut butter, and a grated carrot but otherwise followed the directions exactly. Five people at the potluck asked for the recipe. Thanks so much for posting it was delightful....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      This is great! Love the dressing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Cabbage Salad with a touch of Asia

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.8
     
    Calories from Fat 197
    84%
    Total Fat 21.9 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 119.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    snow pea pods

    ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites