Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Red / Red Lentil and Carrot Soup With Coconut for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Lentil and Carrot Soup With Coconut for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2012

      I love this recipe! I've made it 6 or 7 times in the last couple of months, and it's tons of fun to play with! I'll halve the lentils and add brown rice, or add extra veggies or play with the spices or whatever, and it's amazing every time :) Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      This soup was seriously AMAZING. I wished I never had to stop eating it! I cut back the lentils by a half cup, the broth by 1.5 cups and the coconut milk by 1/2 cup in order to reduce the calories, plus I used 5 carrots and extra cumin. I also ran the immersion blender a touch to make it a little thicker. Wow! It was so good! Next time I think I might use a little less broth and then serve it over brown rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      This is delicious! I used 4 carrots instead of 2, and subbed one of the tsp of cumin with curry powder because I didn't have much cumin. I also added about a half a bag of leftover baby spinach. It came out fantastic! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Great soup! I made it on the stove and added fresh ginger.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Ridiculously good, extremely easy, and very nutritious. I make this recipe whenever I have excess carrots and green beans from the garden (over the winter I use them up out of the freezer). The spices are fantastic, even though some Indians would say there's too much turmeric. Even with powdered broth, the soup is unbeatable. I add a lot of chiles, because I like it hot. Can't get enough!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Bravo! I sampled it before and after adding the coconut milk. It was great both ways. Hot sauce in a dish with coconut is an eyeopener. Next time I'll make a double batch for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      I didn't use a slow-cooker for this. I also used less tomato and more carrot but it was still delicious. This is a recipe I'll definitely be coming back to! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      Fantastic! Because I'm lazy, I just threw it all in the crockpot over night and had it for lunch. YUM! I added a tiny bit (ok a lot) more lentils and it had a chili-like consistancy. Even tastes good cold! But the REAL reason for 5 stars is that my 16 mo old ate it like it was free! This is a child who only ever eats pizza! My husband and I almost fell out of our chairs! Thanks for a toddler pleaser!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      Tasty! Added a lb of turkey Italian sausage, more carrots, and a red bell pepper. Used just 2 cups stock to make it thicker. It would be good with some fresh ginger added in. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Loved it! Read all the reviews and increased carrot. I used the full amount of hot sauce, cooked on the stove top for 35 minutes, and added the lemon last. I added more lemon to work with the coconut milk. Next time will add more cumin. A really good, adaptable, and easy recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      This is an excellent soup. I had it in the crock-pot for about 10 hours on low, and I pureed it before serving. Gets better as it sits too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      This is a wonderful recipe...my committed carnivore husband chowed down and really enjoyed it too. Great colour, wonderful flavour. I only used four cups of stock, for a more stew-like consistency...I cannot stop raving about this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      This was another good variation on the lentil soup theme. The coconut milk really balanced it out - before I added coconut milk, it tasted a bit bitter, but this totally disapeared with the coconut milk. I didn't use a slow cooker, just the stove top and it worked just fine - took about 30-45 minutes for the lentils to tenderise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2005

      Very good and pretty meatless soup which we enjoyed. I subsitutied green beans for the carrots (as I was out) and instead of just the broth I used 2 cups chicken broth, 2 cups tomato juice and 2 cups water with 2 vegetable bouillion cubes thrown in. Delicious and no one asked about the meat! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Lentil and Carrot Soup With Coconut for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (323 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 358.7
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    12%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 527.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 12.2 g
    48%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 21.7 g
    43%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    light coconut milk

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites