Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Red / Red Onion and Orange Salad (Spain) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Onion and Orange Salad (Spain)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2012

      This is a lot more delicious than I imagined it would be. I used clementine sections instead of orange, unrefined extra virgin olive oil, sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, a good pimento stuffed green olive but would recommend to try with black, no sunflower seeds but for a little of the flavour I added a drizzle of unrefined sunflower oil, plus the rest of the ingredients. I would like to make this again with black olives. Made for January's Tag Game ~ Nueces ~ Nuts in the Spain & Portugal forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      I was looking for a recipe from Spain for my book club dinner, and while a bit skeptical, gave this a try. It was a huge hit! I followed the suggestions and served it on a bed of fresh spinach to add color. There was some leftover, and it was still good the next night. My hubby has asked that we add this to our regulars file. Thank you for a recipe we will enjoy again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Beautiful and colorful salad with lots of flavor! Everyone at the table enjoyed it! I made a few changes according to what I had on hand, etc. First, replaced raspberry vinegar with orange muscat champagne vinegar and dates for golden raisins.The mixture was served over a bed of baby spinach leaves and hearts of romaine. I didn't bother to soak the dried fruit either. Yesterday I found heirloom oranges from California and they were a bright sunburst of flavor in this salad. A fruity Spanish olive oil worked best, too. Thanks for posting. Reviewed for Vegetarian Swap #19-2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      I love salads with fruit and this one was perfect. I used lemon juice and added just a pinch of sugar. Keeper recipe for us. Made for Gimme 5 tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      A GREAT salad, full of color. I used navel oranges and followed the recipe as written, except served the vinaigrette on the side and served on top of some baby lettuce greens. Wonderful flavors and so easy to put together. Thanks Sydney Mike ~ made for ZWT5 ~ SPAIN Challenge!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      This salad was extremely easy to throw together....then beautiful and delicious to boot! I followed the recipe precisely and was very pleasantly surprised at how the flavors and textures of the fruits and onion came together with the raspberry vinegar and extra virgin-olive oil. I will make this again soon with no changes other than the addition of a bed of spring mix greens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This has an interesting combination of ingredients that work well together to create a light summer salad. I used the lemon juice in place of the raspberry vinegar. Made for *ZWT 5*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Very nice and pretty salad. I'm not a big black olive fan so I only used a few. Made for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Onion and Orange Salad (Spain)

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 354.5
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    69%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 217.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    raspberry vinegar

    fresh mint

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites