16 Reviews

This just keeps getting better with time! I made this to accompany http://www.food.com/recipe/pigs-in-a-blanket-25198/ recipe for Christmas dinner appetizer along with Spicy Honey BBQ sauce. It actually was so well liked that it went to the dinner table to be used as condiment on the roast beef entree we had. I baked it in a shallow pan following the suggested time/temp of "Cookiedog" below. This made a lot more than I needed, so I placed what I had leftover in a jar with a lid in the fridge. Just had some spread on a turkey, cheese & spinach wrap....delish! Thanks for the post :P

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau December 31, 2011

This was so easy and so so good! I increased the amount of onion used after reading the reviews. With 1 3/4 red onion and 3/4 white onion (odd amounts as they were left overs) I also had a ton of liquid left after the original baking time. I took out a few servings at this point. I then baked the remainder an additional 20 minutes at 475. When comparing the two, the one with the original bake time had a much stronger balsamic vinegar and tart onion flavor to it and the additionally cooked dish had a much stronger caramelized favor. My family all decided that they liked the additionally cooked version more. Personally, I think they would have wolfed it down no matter which version I put in front of them. I will definitely be making this dish again! Thanks Ms Bold!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aserkes December 05, 2007

WARNING. This stuff is addicting! Simply delicious! In order to avoid the extra liquid as mentioned in some of the reviews, I added a quarter of a white onion (what I had on hand). I baked it at 350 for the first 20 min. then turned it up to 450 and cooked it another 40 min. It had a perfect consistency and great flavor.EDIT: I made this again (by popular request!) and used 2 onions- This seemed to make more liquid instead of reducing it. We like it best cooked at a higher temperature for a longer period of time- it carmelizes the onions. Thank you for such a great recipe! It has become a family favorite!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog August 09, 2006

I scaled this recipe in half since theres just the 2 of us - both onion lovers. To reduce the amount of liquid, I left it in the oven for an additional 10 minutes. My husband (Mister Sweet Tooth) loved it but it was too sweet for my tastes. Thanx sailorgal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady April 03, 2004

WOW! Awesome recipe!!! This is just so delicious! Mine turned out pretty liquidy, so I drained off a little liquid, but the taste is out of this world. It's the first time I ever used Balsamic vinegar so I wasn't sure what to expect, but it's very sweet tasting - I can see why someone who doesn't like onions could still love this dip. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 January 09, 2004

This is great, I could eat the whole thing by myself. I served it with some lightly toasted pumpernickle cocktail bread (I brushed the bread with a little olive oil). This relish would be great on a hot dog.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teri McGehan February 24, 2003

This turned out like sauce, not relish. I was disappointed until I re-purposed it, then it was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne February 13, 2008

This is definately a taste explosion as stated below, but just wasn't to my taste. If I were to try this again I might lessen the amount of balsamic, increase the mustard, and bake it over the top of a piece of french bread to help absorb the extra liquid. Thanks for posting anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riverlivin' January 11, 2007

Oh, mercy, this is good - tart, sweet, crunchy ... So easy & yet such a taste explosion! After reading other reviews,I decided to make it as written to serve as a dip at my upcoming party. When party day arrives, I'll bake it off for another 20-30 minutes at a high temp to reduce the liquid some. I'm already looking for other ways to use it. Thanks for this wonderful recipe! ****** *****UPDATE: My plan worked great! Baking at 400º for another 20 minutes gave a perfect consistency for spreading. Guests loved it on my Herbed Cheese Batter Bread as well as on baguette slices topped with baked ham. No leftovers on this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie December 24, 2006

Motivated by SusieQusie's recent review, I made a batch of this to include in a Holiday Gift Basket for our niece who is a vegetarian. I read all reviews & decided my plan. I made a bi-color version using 2 onions (1 red & 1 white as I had only 1 red) & then halved the sauce ingredients. There was plenty of sauce while cooking & afterwards. When nearly cool, I skimmed excess oil from the top & refrigerated. This morning it is both palate & relish consistency perfection. Not enough stars for this recipe IMHO. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis December 21, 2006
red onion dip/relish