Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Red / red onion dip/relish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    red onion dip/relish

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2011

      This just keeps getting better with time! I made this to accompany http://www.food.com/recipe/pigs-in-a-blanket-25198/ recipe for Christmas dinner appetizer along with Spicy Honey BBQ sauce. It actually was so well liked that it went to the dinner table to be used as condiment on the roast beef entree we had. I baked it in a shallow pan following the suggested time/temp of "Cookiedog" below. This made a lot more than I needed, so I placed what I had leftover in a jar with a lid in the fridge. Just had some spread on a turkey, cheese & spinach wrap....delish! Thanks for the post :P

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      This was so easy and so so good! I increased the amount of onion used after reading the reviews. With 1 3/4 red onion and 3/4 white onion (odd amounts as they were left overs) I also had a ton of liquid left after the original baking time. I took out a few servings at this point. I then baked the remainder an additional 20 minutes at 475. When comparing the two, the one with the original bake time had a much stronger balsamic vinegar and tart onion flavor to it and the additionally cooked dish had a much stronger caramelized favor. My family all decided that they liked the additionally cooked version more. Personally, I think they would have wolfed it down no matter which version I put in front of them. I will definitely be making this dish again! Thanks Ms Bold!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2006

      WARNING. This stuff is addicting! Simply delicious! In order to avoid the extra liquid as mentioned in some of the reviews, I added a quarter of a white onion (what I had on hand). I baked it at 350 for the first 20 min. then turned it up to 450 and cooked it another 40 min. It had a perfect consistency and great flavor.EDIT: I made this again (by popular request!) and used 2 onions- This seemed to make more liquid instead of reducing it. We like it best cooked at a higher temperature for a longer period of time- it carmelizes the onions. Thank you for such a great recipe! It has become a family favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2004

      I scaled this recipe in half since theres just the 2 of us - both onion lovers. To reduce the amount of liquid, I left it in the oven for an additional 10 minutes. My husband (Mister Sweet Tooth) loved it but it was too sweet for my tastes. Thanx sailorgal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      WOW! Awesome recipe!!! This is just so delicious! Mine turned out pretty liquidy, so I drained off a little liquid, but the taste is out of this world. It's the first time I ever used Balsamic vinegar so I wasn't sure what to expect, but it's very sweet tasting - I can see why someone who doesn't like onions could still love this dip. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      This is great, I could eat the whole thing by myself. I served it with some lightly toasted pumpernickle cocktail bread (I brushed the bread with a little olive oil). This relish would be great on a hot dog.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This turned out like sauce, not relish. I was disappointed until I re-purposed it, then it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      This is definately a taste explosion as stated below, but just wasn't to my taste. If I were to try this again I might lessen the amount of balsamic, increase the mustard, and bake it over the top of a piece of french bread to help absorb the extra liquid. Thanks for posting anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      Oh, mercy, this is good - tart, sweet, crunchy ... So easy & yet such a taste explosion! After reading other reviews,I decided to make it as written to serve as a dip at my upcoming party. When party day arrives, I'll bake it off for another 20-30 minutes at a high temp to reduce the liquid some. I'm already looking for other ways to use it. Thanks for this wonderful recipe! ****** *****UPDATE: My plan worked great! Baking at 400º for another 20 minutes gave a perfect consistency for spreading. Guests loved it on my Herbed Cheese Batter Bread as well as on baguette slices topped with baked ham. No leftovers on this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      Motivated by SusieQusie's recent review, I made a batch of this to include in a Holiday Gift Basket for our niece who is a vegetarian. I read all reviews & decided my plan. I made a bi-color version using 2 onions (1 red & 1 white as I had only 1 red) & then halved the sauce ingredients. There was plenty of sauce while cooking & afterwards. When nearly cool, I skimmed excess oil from the top & refrigerated. This morning it is both palate & relish consistency perfection. Not enough stars for this recipe IMHO. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      Made a double batch of this for a catering job and everyone raved about it. Gave the recipe to at least one person. Very easy and smells divine while cooking! Thanks for the recipe Kirstin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      This as one of three relishes (the others were Corn Relish-Corn Relish and Miss Annie's Peach Ginger Chutney-Peach Ginger Chutney) I brought to a dinner party where the entree was baked ham. All three complemented the ham exceptionally well. The onion relish was indescribably delicious; just the smell by itself is divine. It did have a lot of excess liquid after cooking, even though I used an exceptionally large red onion; I even tried chilling it a bit but the liquid didn't thicken and needed to be poured off. The next time, rather than waste all the yummy liquid, I will use two large onions instead of 1.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      This is fabulous. I am so sorry that I waited so long to try it. I love the sweet blend of the onion, balsamic, honey and mustard. It is incredible on toasted baguettes, but I can't wait to try it on a sandwich or on grilled chicken. Thanks for a real winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      This stuff is so cool! We fixed it as a dip but ended up eating it as a dip, as a condiment on sandwiches and DH wants to try it as a hot salad dressing on a salad. We'll definitely be making this one again. Should have many more than 5 stars. Thanks for such a great and versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      This is excellent !! I will be using this with baked turkey , chicken , ham , pork chops , and to dip french bread in ! I think this would also be very good with some fried up smoked sausage or kielbasa ! I loved the sweet/sour taste !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2004

      This was yummy and a nice change from the dips I normally make, I made it in the toaster oven to keep the house cool. Will make again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for red onion dip/relish

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.7
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    59%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 181.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 20.5 g
    82%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes