12 Reviews

Easy and delicious. Made as directed. Thanks, I'm Pat. Made for Make My Recipe tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees February 11, 2012

Great steak! I used New York steaks (the large part of the T-Bone steak) and an Australian Shiraz wine. Sauce really complimented the smoke flavor of the grilled steak. This is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey July 23, 2011

I marinated the steak in the marinade for 2 hours. It came out tender and juicy. Great taste. The sauce also is great with the mushrooms. Thanks I'mPat :) Made for the Australian Recipe Swap for June 2011

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 12, 2011

I really enjoyed these. I added my regular steak seasoning instead of just plain salt and pepper, and the steaks and mushrooms turned out wonderful. Beautiful night tonight....in the 70's, so I cooked these outside on the charcoal grill. Great flavor! Thanks, Pat for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom October 08, 2010

I really enjoyed the marinade Pat, it was wonderful. I used it on rib eye steaks, which I fried in my cast iron pan, (its been to chilly to bbq here). Quick, easy to make with delicious results. The meat was tender and flavorful. Thanks for sharing another recipe that I will use again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato October 03, 2010

WOW!!! With the mixed reviews wasn't quite sure what to expect, but for my family this was a more than 5 stars recipe. I marinaded a large sirloin steak for about 28 hours and the last hour, I took it out of the refrigerator to bring to room temperature. I followed the marinade ingredients as written except I had to sub dry thyme. I used baby portabella mushrooms and I also sliced up a large onion and added it with the mushrooms and sauteed them in a little butter. I used the remaining marinade to baste the steak while grilling, rather than adding it in with the mushrooms. I sliced up the steak and added the mushrooms and onions on top. Served this with baked potatoes, green beans, Homemade Bread and Butter for one fantastic meal. 22 yo DD said she thought this was one of the best marinaded steaks I have made so far. Thanks for sharing this recipe, which definitely will be made again. Made for Potluck Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 April 26, 2010

This is a great recipe!! We loved the marinade and it made for a great sauce to drizzle over the steaks. The only thing I did different was to up the garlic amount, just our preference. I used portabella mushrooms as they have been at the store lately and we love them. I also served with creamy polenta as recommended. We haven't had a good steak fillet in ages as they are just so expensive. I got 2 fillet's less than half price and this was a wonderful recipe to use, to enjoy them. A definite keeper thanks Pat..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef June 08, 2009

Made this for Recipe swap #20 group 10. Really enjoyed this recipe..It was easy to marinate the night before and have a quick meal to make the next day.I actually cooked the steak in my cast iron skillet on top of the stove and it turned out great !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Fowler Polly W September 05, 2008

Hubby gave this 5 stars. As I was flame grilling the steak, I added a little brown sugar (less than a teaspoon) to the marinade as hubby loves rare steak but also loves the outside charred. I’d run out of olive oil (a crime in my house) so used melted butter which I won’t be doing again as the sauce split because of the butter. Definitely use an oil in the marinade. I also forgot to add the chives but don’t believe it took anything anyway from the recipe. I used field mushrooms, dried thyme and doubled the garlic as I was looking for a robust taste. I served this with zucchini and red onion cooked in butter and garlic which complimented beautifully and garnished with fried leek (had to use it up). Hubby thanks you Chef Potts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
An_Net October 17, 2007

I really expected to love this recipe. All of my favorite flavors, balsamic, thyme, garlic and wine. I marinated the steak for 24 hours and it smelled wonderful, but the flavor just wasn't there. It was quick and easy, just not very flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel May 29, 2007
Red Wine Steak and Mushrooms