Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Red / Roasted Tomato, Pepper, and Red Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Roasted Tomato, Pepper, and Red Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2012

      Absolutely delicious quick to make and few ingredients. Very good on budget for gourmet tasting soup.

      I served this to my lunch guests with a small dollop of sour cream. Will defiantly serve this at the kitchen I work in with delicious summer tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      What a great technique for making soup. Roasting the vegetables is not only great for flavor it's efficient with time, effort and cleanup. After roasting I removed the tomato and pepper skins but it may have been better if I hadn't. I'm looking forward to tasting this made with next summer's fresh tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      I doubled this recipe and used oregano instead of sage. Delicious, healthy, and easy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      Thanks for sharing this one FlemishMinx!!!! It is a hit in our household and that's for sure! I made this up and served it with fresh french bread and it was soooooooooo good. Very fresh and nummy. I love to cook and especially if I can make something that's really special and have to say, this recipe fits the bill!!! It will be on my list of often prepared soups. So simple, yet so impressive. Plus, it's guilt free. Once again, thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      I added cloves of garlic, like some of the previous reviews had suggested. This soup was nice but not totally my cup of tea. However, my husband went nuts over this and ate the whole bowl so 4 stars it is! I will make this again for him. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      Added 4 cloves of garlic and it was delicious. Fast, easy and super-healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      What a fantastic tasty soup. The only change I made was to use homemade chicken stock instead of vegetable stock. I will be making this over and over again as I am a big fan of soups, especially to take to work in my packed lunch I can see this becoming a firm favourite, thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I made this with a yellow onion and threw in 2 garlic cloves for good measure. Also, I had no fresh sage so I had to guesstimate as to the amount of dried to use. If you break this up into 4 bowl-sized servings (by the way, I LOVE the huge portions on this soup), I stirred 1/4 tsp in right before I ate. This made it fairly sagey, which I really like. I suppose 1/8 if you only want a hint. One thing I'd like to add is that if you're using dried sage, it may be better to add it in when you're blending, as it can develop little lumps if you do it right before serving. Regardless, this is a wonderful, wonderful soup. Next time, I'll add more garlic and maybe a second onion. I ate this with a bowl of popcorn (haha!). I will make this many, many times over. THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      YUMMY!!! I didnt have onions on hand so I used Onion Powder while roasted and added some of the suggested spices, Rosemary, Italian Seasoning. I didnt have any veg stock but had some frozen poultry stock and reduced it by 1/2 cup and added some milk (just thought it would make it a bit more cream like)....Simple and fun to make, have to send it to my Mom who has a garden full of veggies ready to go!!!! Low Cal and Low Fat but Hi Test Taste!!!!! This is a Keeper, go bye canned tomato soups!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      Excellent soup - very easy to make! I added garlic (3 cloves for the recipe amount) when roasting the veg, which works very well, and only intensifies the flavour. I will continue making this again and again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      Great recipe, really tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      seriously, I can finish the whole pot by myself! This is a great soup - wonderful flavors, easy to prepare and it's yummy as leftover too! I only made 1/2 of the recipe and it's plenty for both of us. I used yellow onions as that was what I had on hand and chicken stock. I also added a bit of dried rosemary and oregano to the vegetables when I roasted them. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      Before adding the veg stock, I cut off a few strips of pepper and roasted them separately. In serving, I floated the pepper strips in the soup. Had this with garlic bread. Delicious--I've added this to my "Standby" cookbook of regular go-to recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2004

      An extremely robust & tasty soup - and so easy to prepare! Aside from adding a couple of garlic cloves to the roasting pan, I made no deviations from the recipe. Thanx FlemishMinx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      So flavourful and easy! Roasting the vegetables made a world of difference, IMO, in the final outcome of a simple, but wonderful soup. There was definitely a richness there. Add that along to the ease of the recipe, and this is a sure-fire winner, and one dish I know I'll be making all winter long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Roasted Tomato, Pepper, and Red Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.1
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    44%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 18.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    49%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    fresh sage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites