15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely delicious quick to make and few ingredients. Very good on budget for gourmet tasting soup.

I served this to my lunch guests with a small dollop of sour cream. Will defiantly serve this at the kitchen I work in with delicious summer tomatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
minxiebelle May 20, 2012

What a great technique for making soup. Roasting the vegetables is not only great for flavor it's efficient with time, effort and cleanup. After roasting I removed the tomato and pepper skins but it may have been better if I hadn't. I'm looking forward to tasting this made with next summer's fresh tomatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 19, 2005

I doubled this recipe and used oregano instead of sage. Delicious, healthy, and easy. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne January 18, 2014

Thanks for sharing this one FlemishMinx!!!! It is a hit in our household and that's for sure! I made this up and served it with fresh french bread and it was soooooooooo good. Very fresh and nummy. I love to cook and especially if I can make something that's really special and have to say, this recipe fits the bill!!! It will be on my list of often prepared soups. So simple, yet so impressive. Plus, it's guilt free. Once again, thank you :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yedenmatka January 07, 2013

I added cloves of garlic, like some of the previous reviews had suggested. This soup was nice but not totally my cup of tea. However, my husband went nuts over this and ate the whole bowl so 4 stars it is! I will make this again for him. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PescatariYum December 23, 2010

Added 4 cloves of garlic and it was delicious. Fast, easy and super-healthy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oakesea September 29, 2009

What a fantastic tasty soup. The only change I made was to use homemade chicken stock instead of vegetable stock. I will be making this over and over again as I am a big fan of soups, especially to take to work in my packed lunch I can see this becoming a firm favourite, thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smarttart September 07, 2009

I made this with a yellow onion and threw in 2 garlic cloves for good measure. Also, I had no fresh sage so I had to guesstimate as to the amount of dried to use. If you break this up into 4 bowl-sized servings (by the way, I LOVE the huge portions on this soup), I stirred 1/4 tsp in right before I ate. This made it fairly sagey, which I really like. I suppose 1/8 if you only want a hint. One thing I'd like to add is that if you're using dried sage, it may be better to add it in when you're blending, as it can develop little lumps if you do it right before serving. Regardless, this is a wonderful, wonderful soup. Next time, I'll add more garlic and maybe a second onion. I ate this with a bowl of popcorn (haha!). I will make this many, many times over. THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen March 19, 2008

YUMMY!!! I didnt have onions on hand so I used Onion Powder while roasted and added some of the suggested spices, Rosemary, Italian Seasoning. I didnt have any veg stock but had some frozen poultry stock and reduced it by 1/2 cup and added some milk (just thought it would make it a bit more cream like)....Simple and fun to make, have to send it to my Mom who has a garden full of veggies ready to go!!!! Low Cal and Low Fat but Hi Test Taste!!!!! This is a Keeper, go bye canned tomato soups!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Comfort Food Cook July 08, 2007

Excellent soup - very easy to make! I added garlic (3 cloves for the recipe amount) when roasting the veg, which works very well, and only intensifies the flavour. I will continue making this again and again and again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hilary September 15, 2006
Roasted Tomato, Pepper, and Red Onion Soup